News and Events

News Archive


North Dakota Grocers Honor Woodmansee with Gift to Heritage Center Expansion

Posted 9/27/11 (Tue)

BISMARCK, N.D. – In recognition of its 50th anniversary, the North Dakota Grocers Association has made a $100,000 gift to the expansion of the North Dakota Heritage Center in honor of its longtime executive director.

 The North Dakota Grocers Association Tom Woodmansee Meeting Room recognizes Woodmansee’s 28 years with the group. The surprise announcement was made at the NDGA’s annual convention Sept. 12  in Fargo.
“This is a legacy gift that for generations will pay tribute to you and the Main Street grocers of our state,” said Terry Rockstad, chairman of the board of Dan’s SuperMarkets, Bismarck, when he announced the gift to Woodmansee. “The Heritage Center project is for all the people of North Dakota, and the Grocers Association is proud to take a leadership role to bring private funding support.”
Rockstad and Mike Kraft, owner of Economart in Williston, secured donations from individual grocers and wholesale vendors from across the state to fund the gift.
“Making a large contribution to this regional tourism attraction makes good sense in our growing state,” said Kraft of the North Dakota Heritage Center gift. 
“This is a great example of what an association can do to recognize its heritage in the state,” said Virginia Nelsen, executive director of the SHSND Foundation. “We are grateful to Terry and Mike for their efforts to both honor our project but also honor a great leader.”
The 2009 Legislative Assembly authorized $51.7 million for the expansion of the exhibits and collections spaces of the North Dakota Heritage Center. Of this, $39.7 million in state funds was appropriated. An additional $12 million is being raised from private donors.
Construction began in March on the expansion of the Heritage Center, which will nearly double its size with the addition of 97,000 square feet. It is expected to be completed by 2014, the 125th anniversary of North Dakota statehood.
The State Historical Society of North Dakota Foundation is a private, non-profit organization supported by membership and donations. It was formed in 1965 by the state legislature to generate private financial support for the State Historical Society’s projects and programs that are not funded by the legislature.
The Foundation is governed by a board, which includes Jon McMillan, president, Fordville; Wally Beyer, vice president, Bismarck; Barb Lang, treasurer, Jamestown; Darrell Dorgan, secretary, Bismarck; Pat Grantier, Bismarck; Mike Gustafson, Kindred; Armen Hanson, Devils Lake; Robert Horne, Minot; Tom Riley, Fargo, Paul Olson, Fargo; Dalles Schneider, Bismarck; and State Historical Society Board liaison, Calvin Grinnell, New Town.