History's Heroes

The State Historical Society of North Dakota Foundation continues to seek out History's Heroes in each of the state's 53 counties, who will pledge $10,000 over five years for continued investment in showcasing North Dakota’s history. History's Heroes helped the Foundation raise $12 million for the second phase of the Heritage Center's expansion, and they continue to invest in preserving and presenting our state's great heritage.

For more information about the History's Heroes project, download this brochure or contact Foundation Executive Director Dale Lennon at 701-222-1966 or dale@statehistoricalfoundation.org. Follow the lead of some of our History's Heroes and invite your family members to join you in representing your county. 

The January 2008 issue of North Dakota Living magazine tells more about the History's Heroes program.  To view the article, click on the link below. Download the North Dakota Living article on History's Heroes.

January 2008 issue of North Dakota Living magazine

Our History's Heroes and the counties they represent:

Bottineau County
  • Marvin and Benda Sveen Family
    • Marlo and Jane Sveen, Bismarck
    • Oline Kane, Fargo
    • Kari and Allen Knudson, Bismarck
    • Betty Hiatt, Tower City
    • Clarisse and Charles Anderson, Minot
    • Jean and Lyle Sevre, Wildrose
    • Margaret and Roger Nelson, Fargo
  • Norman and Gladys Hofland Family
    • Connie Hofland and Craig Johnson, Bismarck
    • Jane and Marlo Sveen, Inver Grove Heights, MN
    • Susan Hofland, Minot
    • Dan and Barb Hofland, Fargo
    • Marianne Hofland, Bismarck
    • Rheta Beaver, Kirklin, IN
    • Donna and Stan Engel, Cedar Falls, IA
Burke County
  • Mike Gustafson, Kindred
    • Mike Gustafson, Kindred -- Edward Keller Family
    • Carol Jean Larsen, Bismarck
    • City of Portal
Burleigh County
  • Marian Fruh, Bismarck
  • Joan Klemer, Bismarck
  • Betty Mills, Bismarck
  • Hollis Nappen, Bismarck
  • John Sakariassen, Bismarck
  • Helen Sorlie, Bismarck
  • Fern Swenson, Bismarck
Cass County
  • Governor Jack and Betsy Dalrymple, Casselton
  • Mike Gustafson, Kindred
  • Don Haugen, Fargo
  • Richard Kloubec, Fargo
  • Matthew Mohr, Fargo
  • Lynn and Joyce Overboe, Kindred
Divide County
  • John Andrist, Crosby
  • Mike Unhjem, Fargo
Dunn County
  • Ella Nayes, Bismarck
Emmons County
  • Michael Miller, Fargo
Grand Forks County
  • Governor Al and Barbara Olson, Chanhassen, MN
Hettinger County
  • Virginia Nelsen, Bismarck
  • TC and Johanna Nelsen Family
    • Virginia Nelsen, Bismarck
    • Katherine Schafer, Bismarck
LaMoure County
  • F.C. Humphrey, Pocatello, ID
Logan County
  • Alvera Bergquist, Bismarck 
McKenzie County
  • Larry Rolfson, Bismarck
McLean County
  • Don Gackle, Garrison
Morton County
  • Robert and Lewista (Hanley) Paris Family
    • Jack and Kristin Paris, Mandan
  • Earl Setterlund, Mandan
  • Ann Jenks, Bowling Green, OH
Nelson County
  • Loretta Quanbeck, Mandan
Ramsey County
  • Olav and Ruth Bye Family
    • Duane Bye, Bismarck
    • Garry Bye, Cambridge, MN
    • Ann Tuset, Cambridge, MN
Stark County
  • Kenneth P. and Mary Wherley Mann Family
  • Pat Grantier, Mendota Heights, MN
  • Jack Olin, Dickinson
  • Paul Steffes, Dickinson
Stutsman County
  • A.R. Todd, Jr. and Keely Todd
  • Art Todd, III and Barb Lang, Jamestown
  • Cindy and Jim Tanner, Denver, CO
Towner County
  • Governor Al and Barbara Olson, Chanhassen, MN 
Traill County
  • Lynn and Joyce Overboe, Kindred
Walsh County
  • Jon and Jeannen McMillan, Fordville
Ward County
  • Glenneys and Norma Berg, Minot
  • Robert and Deanne Horne, Fargo
  • Senator John and Mikey Hoeven, Bismarck
Williams County
  • Cyndy Aafedt, Williston
  • Marv Kaiser, Prescott, AZ
  • Donna Mae Skistad, Tioga
Other History's Heroes
  • Brad Miller, Bismarck
  • Bruce and Julie Schwartz, Bismarck
  • David Sprynczynatyk, Bismarck
  • Jim Poolman, Bismarck
  • Mark and Claudia Thompson, Bismarck
  • Merl Paaverud, Bismarck
  • Rick Becker, Bismarck
  • Tom and Katie Hutchens, Bismarck
  • Craig Sommerville -- Sommerville Wilson, Arden Hills, MN
  • Michael Johnson, Denver, CO