Native American Hall of Honor

The Hall is an annual program recognizing Native Americans who have gone above and beyond in representing their tribe and culture. It is located in the North Dakota Heritage Center & State Museum in Bismarck. The program recognizes traditional and contemporary achievements in four categories: Arts and Culture, Athletics, Leadership and Veterans. Nominations can be made of people who are living or in memorium. Up to two people per category will be considered for acceptance into the Hall each year. To nominate a candidate, visit

Honorees will be inducted into the Hall of Honor in a formal ceremony in September and they will be recognized in the Hall of Honor exhibit at the Heritage Center and State Museum with a formal display of their personal artifacts and a video that shares their remarkable histories.

The Native American Hall of Honor is a partnership of the North Dakota Indian Affairs Commission, the State Historical Society of North Dakota and the State Historical Society Foundation. 

The 2022 inductees being honored for achievements in the Leadership, Military, and Sports categories are Gerald Monette, Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa; Juanita Jean Helphrey (White Flower), Mandan, Hidatsa, Arikara Nation; Kevin Finley, Mandan, Hidatsa, and Arikara Nation; Mark N. Fox, Mandan, Hidatsa, and Arikara Nation; and a group of Vietnam veterans including Christopher Wilmer Davis, David Allen Larson, Dennis James Manson, Ralph Charles McCowan, and Eric Daryl Nadeau, Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa.