History's Heroes

History's Heroes is a program of the State Historical Society of North Dakota Foundation seeking at least 10 donors from each of the state's 53 counties who will pledge $10,000 over five years to augment the fundraising for the expansion of the North Dakota Heritage Center. These donations will help the Foundation reach its fundraising goal of $12 million in private support for the second phase of the Heritage Center's expansion.

Download this brochure for more information on how to become a History's Hero.  Sample letters to family members can be found here. For more information contact Foundation Development Director Marlo Sveen at 701-222-1966 or marlo@statehistoricalfoundation.org.

The January 2008 issue of North Dakota Living magazine tells more about the History's Heroes program.  To view the article, click on the link below. Download a PDF of the North Dakota Living article on History's Heroes.

Here is the current listing of History's Heroes and the county for which their donations are designated:

Bottineau County

Marlo Sveen, Bismarck -- Marvin and Benda Sveen Family

Connie Hofland, Bismarck -- Norman and Gladys Hofland Family

Burke County

Mike Gustafson, Kindred

Mike Gustafson, Kindred -- Edward Keller Family

Carol Jean Larsen, Bismarck

City of Portal

Burleigh County

Marian Fruh, Bismarck

Joan Klemer, Bismarck

Betty Mills, Bismarck

Hollis Nappen, Bismarck

John Sakariassen, Bismarck

Helen Sorlie, Bismarck

Fern Swenson, Bismarck

Cass County

Governor Jack and Betsy Dalrymple, Casselton

Mike Gustafson, Kindred

Don Haugen, Fargo

Richard Kloubec, Fargo

Matthew Mohr, Fargo

Lynn and Joyce Overboe

Divide County

John Andrist, Crosby

Mike Unhjem (deceased), Fargo

Dunn County

Ella Nayes, Bismarck

Emmons County

Michael Miller, Fargo

Grand Forks County

Governor Al and Barbara Olson, Chanhassen, Minnesota

Hettinger County

Virginia Nelsen, Bismarck

LaMoure County

F.C. Humphrey, Pocatello, Idaho

Logan County

Alvera Bergquist, Bismarck 

McKenzie County

Larry Rolfson, Bismarck

McLean County

Don Gackle, Garrison

Morton County

Jack and Kristin Paris, Mandan -- Robert and Lewista (Hanley) Paris family

Earl Setterlund, Mandan

Ann Jenks, Mandan

Nelson County

Loretta Quanbeck, Mandan

Ramsey County

Duane and Connie Bye, Bismarck -- Olav and Ruth Bye Family

Garry Bye, Cambridge, Minnesota -- Olav and Ruth Bye Family

Ann Tuset, Cambridge, Minnesota -- Olav and Ruth Bye Family

Stark County

Kenneth P. and Mary Wherley Mann Family, Dickinson

Jack Olin, Dickinson

Paul Steffes, Dickinson

Towner County

Governor Al and Barbara Olson, Chanhassen, Minnesota 

Traill County

Lynn Overboe, Kindred

Walsh County

John and Jeannen McMillan, Fordville

Ward County

Glen and Norma Berg, Minot

Robert and Deanne Horne, Minot

Senator John and Mikey Hoeven, Bismarck

Williams County

Cyndy Aafedt, Williston

Marv Kaiser, Williston

Donna Mae Skistad, Tioga

Other History's Heroes

Brad Miller, Bismarck

Bruce and Julie Schwartz, Bismarck

David Sprynczynatyk, Bismarck

Jim Poolman, Bismarck

Mark and Claudia Thompson, Bismarck

Merl Paaverud, Bismarck

Rick Becker, Bismarck

Tom and Katie Hutchens, Bismarck

Craig Sommerville -- Sommerville Wilson, Arden Hills, Minnesota

Michael Johnson, Denver, Colorado