News and Events

News Archive


Memorials, tributes and donors honored in new N.D. Heritage Center Electronic Kiosk

Posted 5/01/11 (Sun)

BISMARCK, N.D. – The State Historical Society of North Dakota Foundation has unveiled a state-of-the art addition to the North Dakota Heritage Center in Bismarck. The Hall of Honors Electronic Kiosk recognizes supporters and donors, and remembers Peace Officers and individuals in the Heritage Family Memorial Tribute program.

The kiosk is a 32-inch touch screen in the lower level of the North Dakota Heritage Center. Visitors can navigate between screens that present history of the Heritage Center expansion project and its donors, Foundation Trustees, the Heritage Family Memorials and Peace Officer Memorials.
The North Dakota Peace Officer Memorial Program honors fallen officers with highlights of their lives and careers. “These men and women have lost their lives in service to their communities and state,” says Dallas Carlson, director of the North Dakota Peace Officers Association and Foundation.  “We honor them forever for their commitment to civil order and peace.”
The North Dakota Heritage Family and Funeral Home Memorials screen is sponsored by the North Dakota Funeral Directors Association. It presents life stories of deceased North Dakotans who were provided services by 12 funeral homes statewide. They are Buehler-Larson Funeral Home and Weigel Funeral Homes, both of Mandan; Eastgate Funeral Services and Parkway Funeral Service, both of Bismarck; Everson Funeral Home, Williston; Fulkerson Funeral Homes in Tioga, Watford City and Williston; Lisko Funeral Home, Jamestown; Myers Funeral Home, Linton; Nero Funeral Home, Bottineau, and Thomas Family Funeral Home, Minot.
“Our personal history is important, as is the history of our loved ones,” says Virginia Nelsen, executive director of the SHSND Foundation. “Through this memorial program, these life stories will always be remembered.”
Nelsen praised the work of longtime Foundation volunteers Lawrence Klemer, Dolores Boint and Verlyn Larson, who along with Foundation staff Diane Wolberg and Kris Hockett, have been the team that has managed the successful memorial program. “Records come in from funeral homes to Wolberg, they are formatted and printed by Klemmer, edited and archived by Boint and Larson and mailed out by Hockett,” says Nelsen. “This seamless effort has processed more the 6,000 memorial over the last five years. The Foundation is very grateful for the hundreds and hundreds of hours donated by our volunteers to this very important program.”

View more photos of the Electronic Kiosk dedication.

Nelsen says the database for the kiosk will be constantly updated as new memorials and donor information are received. It was developed by Vision Technology of Bismarck, which builds memorial kiosks for veterans groups across the country.
In addition to the North Dakota Peace Officers Association and Foundation, the North Dakota Funeral Directors Association, and SHSND Foundation members, other sponsors of the Hall of Honors Electronic Kiosk are the following Foundation Trustees, Carey Bittner; Loretta Quanbeck and Family, Bob Eastgate and William and Alice Schott, all of Bismarck.
The State Historical Society of North Dakota Foundation is a private, non-profit organization supported by membership and donations. It was formed in 1965 by the state legislature to generate private financial support for the State Historical Society’s projects and programs that are not funded by the legislature. 
The Foundation is governed by a board, which includes Jon McMillan, president, Fordville; Wally Beyer, vice president, Bismarck; Barb Lang, treasurer, Jamestown; Darrell Dorgan, secretary, Bismarck; Pat Grantier, Bismarck; Mike Gustafson, Kindred; Armen Hanson, Devils Lake; Robert Horne, Minot; Tom Riley, Fargo, Paul Olson, Fargo; Dalles Schneider, Bismarck; and State Historical Society Board liaison Gereld Gerntholz, Valley City. 
For more information contact Nelsen or Foundation Development Director Marlo Sveen at 701-222-1966, or visit
Pictured by the N.D. Heritage Center Electronic Kiosk  are, second from left, Dallas Carlson, director of the North Dakota Peace Officers Association and Foundation, other Association and Foundation members, and Attorney General Wayne Stenehjem, at right.