9 people to be inducted into Native American Hall of Honor

Posted 11/30/22 (Wed)

By Forum staff

August 30, 2022 01:38 PM

BISMARCK — Nine people will be inducted into the Native American Hall of Honor at the North Dakota Heritage Center and State Museum on Thursday, Sept. 8.

The 2022 inductees are being honored for achievements in leadership, military and sports categories.

The inductees are:

  • Gerald Monette, Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa.
  • Juanita Jean Helphrey (White Flower), Mandan, Hidatsa, Arikara Nation.
  • Kevin Finley, Mandan, Hidatsa, and Arikara Nation.
  • Mark N. Fox, Mandan, Hidatsa, and Arikara Nation .
  • A group of Vietnam veterans including Christopher Wilmer Davis, David Allen Larson, Dennis James Manson, Ralph Charles McCowan, and Eric Daryl Nadeau, Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa.

"This initiative is an excellent way to honor Native Americans who have gone above and beyond in representing their tribes and cultures," said North Dakota Indian Affairs Commissioner Nathan Davis in a press release.
The program is in partnership with the North Dakota Indian Affairs Commission, the State Historical Society of North Dakota and the State Historical Society Foundation.

The event is open to the public, will begin with a traditional feed at 5 p.m. and will be followed by the honoree society at 6 p.m., which will include the Native American Hall of Honor exhibition opening.

For more information, contact the North Dakota Indian Affairs Commission at 701-328-2428. The event will also be livestreamed at facebook.com/ndmuseum.