Legacy Program

The Legacy Program is a joint project between the State Historical Society of North Dakota  Foundation, city and county historical societies and state newspapers.  Its purpose is to publish feature stories in local newspapers about people who have made a difference in their communities. The published stories will then be added to this website and to the Archives collection of the State Historical Society of North Dakota.



The first Legacy Program project has begun with the Mandan Historical Society and the Mandan News. The published feature stories are below:



Mandan Historical Society/Mandan News

Legacy Program feature stories:                   

Alfred Burton Welch                                                     

Alice Dahners

Dan Collins

Elijah Boley

Era Bell Thompson

Esther Davis

Franklin Anders

Frederic Gerard

George Armstrong Custer

George Marback

Gilbert Furness

Henry Coe

Henry Dahners

Hiram Lyon

Hoy Russell

James Hanley, Jr.

James Hanley, Sr.

John Delbert Allen

Leo Broderick

Elizabeth Custer

Mary Broderick Harris

Mary Stark

Rolland Ray Lutz

Ron Erhardt

Tony Dean

Walter Tostevin

Zalmon Gilbert